March 1, 2013
Courtesy The Lithuanian Tribune

On March 6, President Dalia Grybauskaite will meet with the Lord Mayor of the German City of Aachen Marcel Phillip and the Chairman of the Charlemagne Board of Directors Dr. Jürgen Linden, who will officially announce that Charlemagne Prize for 2013 is awarded to the President of Lithuania, informs

The award, which is also known as “Oscar in Politics”, has been extended for President Grybaukaite’s special contribution to strong and united Europe.

“With the decision to award the Charlemagne Prize of Aachen 2013 to Dr. Dalia Grybauskaite, the Board of Directors of the Society for the Conferring of the International Charlemagne Prize of Aachen pays tribute to one of the outstanding personalities in the Baltic region and to her exceptional endeavors for deeper integration in the European Union and for finding solutions for the current crisis,” the explanatory statement from the society for the conferring of the international Charlemagne Prize reads.

The Charlemagne Prize will be presented to President Dalia Grybauskaite on May 9 – Europe Day – during the official ceremony in Aachen’s Town Hall.

Suggested by the citizens of Aachen in 1950, Charlemagne Prize is the most prestigious and honorable distinction awarded for special contribution to European unity.

Among the recipients of this award are Pope John Paul II, the founding fathers of the European Union Jean Monnet, Konrad Adenauer and Robert Schuman, Great Britain’s Prime Minister Winston S. Churchill, the European Commission, King Juan Carlos of Spain, U.S. President Bill Clinton, Czech humanist President Vaclav Havel, German Chancellor Angela Merkel, UK’s Prime Minister Tony Blair, President of the European Central Bank Jean-Claude Trichet, European currency – the euro, Queen Beatrix of the Netherlands, Prime Minister of Luxembourg Jean-Claude Juncker, and other prominent European and world leaders.