Courtesy of LETA
April 12, 2013

On 9 May in Aachen’s Town Hall, Germany, President Dalia Grybauskaite will be presented the honorable International Charlemagne Prize. On this occasion, Lithuania will be broadly introduced in Germany during the whole month. Starting today, cultural and academic events – a total of more than 40 – will be held, which will help to know better our country, its history, culture, and business opportunities, the presidential press service said.

According to the President, this prestigious political award opens up a great opportunity to acquaint Germany and the whole of Europe with Lithuania.

“Lithuania certainly has things to be proud of. It is a very good opportunity to show Europe what Lithuania and its people are like, our accomplishments over 23 years of re-independence. This is particularly important before taking presidency of the European Union,” the President said.

Various exhibitions, lectures and concerts will be organized in Germany. The programme includes demonstration of Lithuanian films, presentations to German entrepreneurs of investment possibilities in Lithuania, discussions with students, poetry readings, and meetings with Aachen’s community.

Extensive series of events will run for a month, ending with a solemn ceremony on Europe Day in the Aachen Town Hall where the International Charlemagne Prize will be presented to President Dalia Grybauskaite. This award is conferred to the President in recognition of her personal contribution for the European integration and for leading Lithuania out of the difficult economic crisis.

The events are organized by the Lithuanian Embassy in Germany, the International Charlemagne Prize Foundation and the Municipality of the Aachen City.

The origins of the award date back to 1950, when it was suggested by the citizens of the German city of Aachen. The award, which is also known as Oscar in Politics, has become a symbolic invitation to seek concord, unity and solidarity. Among the recipients of this award are Pope John Paul II, the founding fathers of the European Union Jean Monnet, Konrad Adenauer and Robert Schuman, Great Britain’s Prime Minister Winston S. Churchill, U.S. President Bill Clinton, Czech humanist President Vaclav Havel, German Chancellor Angela Merkel, Queen Beatrix of the Netherlands, Prime Minister of Luxembourg Jean-Claude Juncker, and other outstanding personalities.