Courtesy of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Latvia    December 30, 2015

On 1 January 2016, Latvia is taking over the chairmanship of the trilateral cooperation structures – the Baltic Assembly, the Baltic Council and the Baltic Council of Ministers – as well as the duties of the coordinating country for Baltic and Nordic cooperation in the Nordic-Baltic Eight (NB8) format.

In view of the current challenges in Europe and across the globe, and building on what Lithuania and Denmark have accomplished in their political agendas in 2015, Latvia has identified a crosscutting theme for the coming year: strengthening of security in the region.

Specific priorities and tasks have been set for each of the cooperation frameworks. Further information on those can be found here.

The year 2016 is a special landmark in Baltic and Nordic cooperation since it brings the 25th anniversary of the renewal of international recognition of the Baltic States’ independence in August 1991. It is noteworthy that in 2016, the Nordic Council of Ministers’ Offices in Riga, Tallinn and Vilnius also mark the 25th year of their work.